Dial a Book Search Sydney Australia
 Book Search    Browse Books    Contact    About us    How to order    Shopping Cart    Book Requests    Secure Payments
Browse  Letters & Diaries Books

There are 16 books in this catalogue.
Letters to Véra
Nabokov, Vladimir; Voronina, Olga & Boyd, Brian (ed. & trans.)
Book Number: 65675
ISBN: 9780141192239
Penguin Classics 2014. 8vo. hardcover. 797pp. index. /b/w illus. Very good+. / Very good+ d/w.
Price: $45.00


Dearest Mother: Extracts from the Letters of F.R. Kendall.
Kendall, F. R.
Book Number: 65627
ISBN: 0946555060
P&O Cruises & Good Book Publications 1987. 8vo. stapled wraps. 46pp. b/w illus. Very good+.
Price: $8.00


The Letters of Horace Walpole Selected and Arranged by William Hadley. (Everyman's Library 775).
Walpole, Horace
Book Number: 64965
ISBN: 
J.M. Dent, London, N.D. 8vo. hardcover. 535pp. Good, cover faded, owner's name on fep. / Good d/w chipped on edges.
Price: $12.00


153 Letters from W.H. Hudson edited and with an introduction and explanatory notes
Hudson, W.H. Edited by Edward Garnett.
Book Number: 64826
ISBN: 
Nonesuch Press, London 1923. 8vo. hardcover, 191pp. 1 b/w sketch. very good, some flecking to cover, Ingleton bookplate on front pastedown, / no d/w. This edition, printed and made in England, is limited to one thousand numbered copies, this copy #764.
Price: $60.00


A Wiltshire Parson and His Friends. The Correspondence of William Lisle Bowles. Together With Four Hitherto Unidentified Reviews By Coleridge.
Greever, Garland (Edited By)
Book Number: 64532
ISBN: 
Constable and Co., London 1926. 8vo. hardcover. 207pp. index. Good, some foxing.
Price: $15.00


To Cherish the Life of the World, Selected Letters of Margaret Mead
Caffrey, Margaret M.; Francis, Patricia A. (eds.) [Mead, Margaret]
Book Number: 63327
ISBN: 9780465008155
Basic Books New York 2006 8vo. hardcover. 429pp. index. Fine. / Near Fine d/w.
Price: $25.00


Paston Letters
Davis, Norman (editor)
Book Number: 62745
ISBN: 
Oxford at the Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1958. Small 8vo. hardcover. 165pp. index. Very good. / Very good clipped d/w. Clarendon Medieval and Tudor Series.
Price: $12.00


Gielgud's Letters: John Gielgud in His Own Words
Gielgud, John. edited by Mangan, Richard
Book Number: 56871
ISBN: 0297829890
Weidenfeld & Nicolson, London 2004. 8vo. hardcover. 564pp. index, colour illus. very good, spine slanted. / very good d/w.
Price: $18.00


Letters to Monica
Larkin, Philip
Book Number: 59273
ISBN: 9780571239092
Faber & Faber 2010 8vo. hardcover. 475pp. Near Fine. / Very good+ d/w.
Price: $22.00


Sir William Gell in Italy, Letters to the Society of Dilettanti, 1831-1835
Clay, Edith & Frederiksen, Martin (editors)
Book Number: 59474
ISBN: 
Hamish Hamilton, London, 1976. 8vo. hardcover. 182pp. index, b/w illus. Very good+. / Very good+ d/w.
Price: $20.00


As Good As A Yarn With You.Letters between Miles Franklin, Katharine Susannah Prichard, Jean Devanny, Marjorie Barnard, Flora Eldershaw and Eleanor Dark.
Ferrier, Carole.
Book Number: 59701
ISBN: 0521393140
Cambridge University Press, VIC, 1992. 8vo. hardcover. 438pp. index, b/w illus. Very good. / Very good+ d/w.
Price: $18.00


The Letters of Rachel Henning, with Forty Pen-drawings by Norman Lindsay
Henning, Rachel (illustrated by Norman Lindsay) ; David Adams (introduction by)
Book Number: 61218
ISBN: 
The Bulletin Newspaper Co.Ltd., Sydney, Australia, 1952. 4to. stapled wraps. 126pp. b/w illus. Very good, cover edges browned, light tape marks on endpapers, news clippings inserted inside rear cover.
Price: $35.00


The letters of Noel Coward
Day, Barry (editor). [Noel Coward]
Book Number: 61869
ISBN: 9780713685787
Methuen Drama, London 2007. 8vo. hardcover. 780pp. index, b/w illus. Very good. / Very good d/w.
Price: $25.00


Jack Kerouac: Selected Letters, 1940-1956
Kerouac, Jack and Edited by Ann Charters
Book Number: 61833
ISBN: 0670849529
Viking 1995 8vo. Hardcover no d/w. 629pp. Good. In his prolific correspondence Jack Kerouac set down the raw material of the life that he would later transmute into his multi-volume "Legend of Duluoz". He also refined the seemingly freewheeling and spontaneous prose style that became his trademark. This volume contains many letters written between 1940, when Kerouac was a college freshman and 1956, immediately before his leap to celebrity status. They offer invaluable insights into Kerouac's family life, friendships, travels, love affairs and literary apprenticeship, and provide accounts of the events that inspired "On the Road", "Visions of Cody" and "The Dharma Burns".
Price: $15.00


The Secrets of Pistoulet - An Enchanted Fable of Food, Magic and Love
Kolpen, Jana - Designed by Mary Tiegreen
Book Number: 61678
ISBN: 1556704437
Stewart Tabori & Chang 1996 8vo. square 8vo. Hardcover in slipcase. There is magic and mystery in the French farmhouse Pistoulet. Mademoiselle J. uncovers the ancient recipes which transform the weary guests at Pistoulet. There is redemption in the Tourte of Friendship, Potage of Passion, Celestial Croutons, Tea of Courage, Sweetness Enhancing Honey, and all the other magic potions. In the tradition of Griffin & Sabine, here are fold-out letters, handwritten cards, recipe pockets, and many other enchantments which demonstrate how Pisoulet changes all who can embrace the magic.
Price: $15.00


Instead of a Book. Letters to a Friend
Athill, Diana
Book Number: 61660
ISBN: 
London Granta Books 2011 8vo illustrated boards, cloth spine hardcover 328pp. very good+.
Price: $18.00